MP polls: Congress releases second list of candidates

    New Delhi [India], Nov 4 (The Eastern Herald): A day after releasing the first list of candidates, the Congress party on Sunday released the second list of 16 candidates for the upcoming Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh.
    In the second list, there are three Schedule Caste candidates from Guna, Devsar, and Amla constituencies, while two Schedule Tribe candidates from Alirajpur and Petlawad constituencies. However, there is no woman candidate in the second list.
    With the new list being released, there are a total of 25 SC candidates and 40 ST candidates.
    The party released the first list of 155 candidates on Saturday. The previous list included senior leader Digvijay Singh’s brother Lakshman Singh, and son Jaivardhan Singh, former Members of Parliament Vijaylaxmi Sadho, Suresh Pachouri amongst others.
    Ajay Singh, son of former chief minister Arjun Singh, also got a ticket from Churhat constituency in the first list.
    Madhya Pradesh is slated to go for polls for 230 constituencies on November 28. The Bharatiya Janata Party released the list of candidates on Friday, with current Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan contesting the elections from his home constituency, Budhni. (The Eastern Herald)

    Follow us on Google News! and Flipboard!