Karnataka by-elections: BJP’s BY Raghavendra wins Shimoga parliamentary seat

    Bengaluru (Karnataka) [India], Nov 6 (The Eastern Herald): Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate BY Raghavendra and son of former chief minister BS Yeddyurappa defeated his rival Madhu Bangarappa of Janata Dal-Secular (JDS) by a margin of 52,148 votes in Shimoga Lok Sabha by-poll.LR Shivaramegowda of JDS has won Mandya parliamentary seat by a comfortable margin- 324943 votes against BJP’s Dr Siddaramaiah.The Congress candidate for the Ballari constituency, VS Ugrappa, has won the by-poll by a massive margin of 2,41,656 votes.The Congress-JDS alliance has won two seats each in the Lok Sabha and the assembly in the recently held Karnataka by-polls, while the BJP managed to secure one parliamentary seat.Elections in the three Lok Sabha and two Assembly constituencies were held on November 3.JD (S) leader and Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy’s first wife Anitha Kumaraswamy won from Ramanagara assembly seat by a margin of 109137 votes, while Congress leader AS Nyamagouda bagged Jamakhandi assembly seat by nearly 40-thousand votes by defeating BJP rival Srikant Kulkarni. (The Eastern Herald)

    © The Eastern Herald

    Follow us on Google News! and Flipboard!