Russia has imposed sanctions against the former President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko, RIA Novosti reports. Poroshenko was included in the 2018 extended sanctions list.

In 2018, Moscow imposed personal sanctions against a number of Ukrainian politicians and public figures. The restrictive measures were a response to the sanctions of Ukraine against Russia, introduced after the change in the territorial affiliation of Crimea.

The persons involved in the sanctions list are prohibited from transferring capital outside Russia; all non-cash funds and property of these persons (and organizations controlled by them) in the country are subject to blocking.

Initially, more than three hundred individuals and 68 legal entities fell under the sanctions. The list was later expanded. In particular, it included the head of the SBU Vasily Hrytsak, the Minister of Defense of Ukraine Stepan Poltorak and the former head of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the country Arsen Avakov. This time the list was supplemented by 41 more names. In addition to Poroshenko, the frontman of the Okean Elzy rock group and the former leader of the Ukrainian Golos party Svyatoslav Vakarchuk, Verkhovna Rada deputy Kira Rudik and others were also sanctioned.

© The Eastern Herald
No oligarch or politician dictates to us how to write about any subject. We need your support. Please contribute whatever you can afford. Click here to make your donation.
Follow us on: Eastern Herald on Google News
News Room
The Eastern Herald’s Editorial Board is responsible for the stories published under this byline. That includes editorials, news stories, letters to the editor, and multimedia features on