REUTERS/Remo Casilli/File Photo

Diplomats confirmed that European Union governments agreed, on Wednesday, to add 11 countries, including Saudi Arabia, Jordan and Qatar, to its list of countries that will allow travel from them for non-essential reasons.

The ambassadors of the twenty-seven countries of the Union agreed to add these countries to the meeting, with the decision to enter into force in the coming days.

And the list does not include Britain, the former member of the bloc in which the mutated Delta strain appeared, which caused a significant increase in cases of Covid-19 disease due to its great ability to contagion.

In addition to Saudi Arabia, Jordan and Qatar, the list includes Canada, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Kosovo, Moldova and Montenegro.

European Union countries have received recommendations to gradually lift travel restrictions for the 14 countries currently on the list, which are Albania, Australia, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, and the United States.

The two Chinese administrative regions, Hong Kong and Macau, are also on the list.

Every country in the European Union can still request a negative COVID-19 test or subject people to quarantine.

© The Eastern Herald
No oligarch or politician dictates to us how to write about any subject. We need your support. Please contribute whatever you can afford. Click here to make your donation.
Follow us on: Eastern Herald on Google News
Arab Desk
The Eastern Herald’s Editorial Board is responsible for the stories published under this byline. That includes editorials, news stories, letters to the editor, and multimedia features on