Denmark Awarded with Mother Teresa Memorial Award for Social Justice 2021 for Environment Sustainability

Harmony Foundation hosted the Mother Teresa Memorial Awards for Social Justice which premiered on December 30th, 2021. Each year, the Harmony Foundation identifies a theme for the Mother Teresa Memorial Awards that aligns with the need of the hour affecting humanity worldwide. The Award is an annual event that celebrates and commemorates the legacy of Mother Teresa.


Padma Bhushan Dr. Anil Joshi received the award at the hands of Ms. Shazia Ilmi


“While the Nobel prize was instituted in remorse and apology to the devastating destruction caused by the invention of the dynamite and other high explosives, On the other hand, this award in memory of Mother Teresa espouses her ethos of selflessness and virtues of compassion immortalised even in her living sainthood. Her’s is the legacy of the pursuit of a lifetime in social justice and the enduring face of peace in the face of deprivation and hate globally, for generations to come,” said Dr. Abraham Mathai the Chairman of the foundation.


Padma Shri Tulsi Gowda received the award at the hands of Maharashtra Governor


This year the foundation embarked on the 17th year of the Mother Teresa Memorial Award felicitating selfless individuals, leaders, youth and organizations who have worked relentlessly in the realm of augmenting Environmental Sustainability.


The Harmony Foundation has been proud to acknowledge the diversity of individuals from various walks of life, from students to corporates, who are no less than the warrior-visionaries of our times and have diligently worked towards the conservation and preservation of our planet.


The astounding and inspirational awardees this year for saving the environment are:


Denmark awarded for being one of the exceptional nations in the world which lives in harmony with nature and promotes environmental sustainability.

Dr. Anil Prakash Joshi – Padma Bhushan

Tulsi Gowda – Padma Shri

Jamuna Tudu: Lady Tarzan – Padma Shri

Vidyut Mohan – Winner of the inaugural Earthshot Prize 2021

Subhajit Mukherjee – Green Man of Mumbai

Paani Foundation – NGO (Maharashtra)

Plastic Pollution Coalition – Global organization working towards a plastic pollution free world

Missio Munich – Germany based organization committed to preserving the diversity of life and treading sustainable paths

WeForest – An organisation headquartered in Belgium to conserve and restore the ecological integrity of forests and landscapes










Young achievers of Mother Teresa Memorial Award this year

  1. Vinisha Umashankar, Earthshot Prize ’21 Finalist

  2. Aadya Joshi, Founder of the Right Green

  3. Ridhima Pandey, Young Climate Activist


The foundation’s past awardees include luminaries like Dr. Oby Esekwesili (Nigerian Presidential Candidate – 2019 & Founder – Bring Back Our Girls), Nobel Laureates like H.H. Dalai Lama, Nation Premiers like Ghanaian President H.E. Nana Akufo-Addo, and Prime Minister of Malaysia H.E. Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, H.H. Abdullah Bin Zayed Al Nahyan (UAE Minister of Foreign Affairs & Intl Cooperation), Baroness Caroline Cox (former Deputy Speaker of the United Kingdom’s House of Lords), Prominent Priyanka Chopra (UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador), among others.

This Press Release has not been vetted or endorsed by The Eastern Herald’s editorial staff.
Follow us on:
NewsVoir provides news distribution solutions to marketing and PR professionals. NewsVoir is a PR agency in India and is a content syndication partner with The Eastern Herald.

Public Reaction