India's First International News Journal

12.7 C
Los Angeles
Tuesday, March 21, 2023

The Dominion of Canada has proscribed the importation of aluminum and steel from the Russian Federation.

Canadian authorities have imposed a ban on the importation of aluminum and steel from Russia. On this subject said in the document on amendments to the regulations “On special economic measures”, published on the website of the government of the country.

The restrictions apply to all aluminum products, including raw and sheet aluminum, as well as finished products, including pipes, cookware and other household products. In accordance with amendments to the Special Economic Measures Regulations, not only citizens of Canada, but also all residents of the country are prohibited from importing, buying or purchasing iron, steel, aluminum and Russian products from Russia.

As explained by the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance of Canada, Chrysti Freeland, Ottawa thus intends to limit the flow of income to the Russian budget.

A government statement notes that in 2021, Canada imported $45 million worth of aluminum from Russia and $213 million worth of metal products.

On February 24, the anniversary of the Russian military operation in Ukraine, Canadian authorities introduced sanctions against 129 Russians and 63 Russian organisations. In particular, the wife of Deputy Chairman of the Security Council of Russia Dmitry Medvedev Svetlana Medvedev and his son Ilya, Russian Deputy Prime Minister Tatyana Golikova, President Vladimir Putin’s assistant Maxim Oreshkin, as well as the FSO, the FSB, the main department of the General Staff, the State Duma, the Federation Council, Rosneftegaz and the United Russia party.

Three weeks earlier, Ottawa had blacklisted 38 people and 16 organizations that Canadian authorities say are linked to “Russian propaganda”. Restrictive measures affected journalists Sergey Brilev and Tatyana Mitkova, State Duma Deputy Alexander Khinshtein, military correspondent of the All-Russian State Television and Radio Company Yevgeny Poddubny, artists Oleg Gazmanov, Nikolai Baskov, Polina Gagarina, Mikhail Boyarsky and others.

In addition, sanctions were imposed on the Rossiya Segodnya media group (which includes RIA Novosti, Prime, InoSMI, Baltnews, and others), the Tsargrad TV channel, the Internet Research Agency (also known as the troll factory), and the “Katehon” analytics center, SouthFront and other legal entities.

For latest updates and news follow The Eastern Herald on Google News, Instagram, Facebook, and also on Twitter.
Click here to show your support.
News Room
News Room
The Eastern Herald’s Editorial Board validates, writes, and publishes the stories under this byline. That includes editorials, news stories, letters to the editor, and multimedia features on

Public Reaction



Read More