Leading the Alternative World Order

Reshaping Perspectives and Catalyzing Diplomatic Evolution

Sunday, December 3, 2023
NewsDoes Zamalek qualify for the Club World Cup thanks to Al-Ahly?

Does Zamalek qualify for the Club World Cup thanks to Al-Ahly?

Al-Ahly took part in the 2020 CAF Champions League final against Zamalek and won their ninth title at the time, before FIFA announced the expansion of the World Cup with the participation of 32 teams around the world and an increase in the number of seats on the brown continent. .

Participation of Zamalek

Many football experts, including technical analyst Khaled Bayoumi, have confirmed Zamalek’s participation in the 2025 World Cup in case Al-Ahly wins the African Champions League this year, as the white team will participate as finalist in the 2020 tournament in place of Al-Ahly, who will participate as champion in the 2023 contest if crowned with the title. .

Zamalek has never participated in the Club World Cup, as it has not won the CAF Champions League title since 2002, and qualification for the competition is limited to the team that won the continental championship, which kept Al-Abyad away from prestigious international participation. in the “FIFA” tournament.

In the current Champions League season, Zamalek left the competition in the group stage to again lose his chance to appear in the Club World Cup, but some have given him hope with the thesis of his participation as a dolphin of the champion 2020.

The FIFA list solves the problem

The International Federation has established regulations that regulate participation in the Club World Cup with its new system, not including the participation of the 2020 championship runners-up or even the team that won the title. The FIFA list foresees the participation of African champions from 2021 to 2024, which gave Al-Ahly of Egypt and Moroccan Wydad the first two cards, given that they won the 2021 and 2022 titles. champions 2023 and 2024 will reserve two additional places for Africa in the tournament, and in the event of victory of Al-Ahly or Wydad, the card will not go to Zamalek and summer 2020, but rather “FIFA” has arranged another settlement to regulate this matter. “FIFA” confirmed in the tournament list that in case a team wins more than one championship during the period of 2021 to 2024, the qualifying card will go for the doubles version they won for the club ranked first in Africa after the four qualifiers by sporting standards, and Zamalek will move away from the best teams because of its exit 3 times in a row from the group stage of the Champions League.

Read the Latest World News Today on The Eastern Herald.

For the latest updates and news follow The Eastern Herald on Google News, Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter. To show your support click here.


Arab Desk
Arab Desk
The Eastern Herald’s Arab Desk validates the stories published under this byline. That includes editorials, news stories, letters to the editor, and multimedia features on easternherald.com.

Public Reaction



Subscribe to our Newsletter

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Never miss a story with active notifications

- Exclusive stories right into your inbox