Leading the Alternative World Order

Reshaping Perspectives and Catalyzing Diplomatic Evolution

Saturday, September 30, 2023


Subscribe to our Newsletter

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Never miss a story with active notifications

- Exclusive stories right into your inbox

WorldAsiaIn his speech to Parliament, the Prime Minister mentions the youngest, oldest and longest-serving MPs

In his speech to Parliament, the Prime Minister mentions the youngest, oldest and longest-serving MPs

New Delhi: As the functioning of Parliament is shifted to the new building, Prime Minister Narendra Modi mentioned the oldest member of the Lok Sabha – Samajwadi Party MP Shafiqur Rahman Barq, 93 – and the youngest – Chandrani Murmu, 30 years old, from Biju Janata Dal (BJD) – became an MP at the age of 25.

He also recalled Communist Party of India (CPI) leader Indrajit Gupta, who was a Lok Sabha MP for almost 36 years, from 1960 to 2001, except for a short period from 1977 to 1980.

Shafiqur Rahman Barq, a sitting MP of Lok Sabha, has been elected as an MP nine times. He first became a member of the Lok Sabha in 1996 from Moradabad in Uttar Pradesh. He had already won four times as a deputy.

He was re-elected to the Lok Sabha from Moradabad in 1998 and 2004, and from Sambhal in 2009 and again in 2019.

Shafiqur Rahman Barq has also been at the center of controversies. In 2019, Shafiqur Rahman Barq was at the center of debate after refusing to sing “Vande Mataram” in Parliament, during his swearing-in ceremony.

Chandrani Murmu won the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Keonjhar, Odisha. She is currently India’s youngest MP. Daughter of former Congress MP Hariharan Soren, she is a graduate in mechanical engineering.

Indrajit Gupta is the longest-serving MP in Lok Sabha. Indrajit Gupta was first elected to the Lok Sabha in 1960 in a by-election. Thereafter, except for a short period from 1977 to 1980, he was a member until his death in 2001.

He was the CPI MP from Calcutta South West from 1960 to 1967, MP from Alipore from 1967 to 1977, and then MP from Basirhat from 1980 to 1989, after which he fought and won in Midnapore in 1989 and won represented the Lok Sabha constituency. until his death in 2001.

In 1977, Indrajit Gupta lost Dum Dum to Ashok Krishna Dutt after the CPI supported the Emergency.

He also served as Union Home Minister in the United Front governments of Prime Ministers HD Deve Gowda and IK Gujral.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by The Eastern Herald staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

For the latest updates and news follow The Eastern Herald on Google News, Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter. To show your support click here.


News Room
News Room
The Eastern Herald’s Editorial Board validates, writes, and publishes the stories under this byline. That includes editorials, news stories, letters to the editor, and multimedia features on easternherald.com.

Public Reaction