This measure was a response to the actions of the European Union, noted in the Russian Foreign Ministry

The Russian leadership has expanded the list of citizens of the countries – members of the European Union and representatives of European institutions, who are prohibited from entering the country. This is stated in the commentary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.

“In response to the actions of the European Union, the Russian side made a decision to expand the list of representatives of the EU member states and institutions that are prohibited from entering the territory of the Russian Federation. The number of persons involved in the Russian list has been brought to par with the existing list of the European Union, ”the ministry said in a statement.

These restrictions were introduced in accordance with the law on the procedure for leaving the Russian Federation and entering the Russian Federation. A note has been sent to the EU Delegation in Russia.

“Recently, the European Union has noted a number of unfriendly steps towards our country and Russian citizens. Acting, as before, bypassing existing international norms, the EU continues to expand its sanctions instruments and apply them under far-fetched and sometimes absurd pretexts.

The European Union has been repeatedly warned about the harmfulness of this approach. But the EU ignores our proposals to conduct a substantive, professional dialogue based on facts and continues to choose the language of sanctions, ”the Russian Foreign Ministry explained.

“If the EU continues the confrontational line, we reserve the right to take appropriate measures,” the ministry added.

© The Eastern Herald

Follow us on Google News! and Flipboard!