The European Union has named 14 countries whose citizens it considers “safe” to allow them to enter within its borders from July 1, despite the pandemic, but the United States, Brazil and China are not among them.

These countries include Australia, Canada, Japan, Morocco and South Korea, The Eastern Herald reported.

The EU is ready to add China if the Chinese government offers a reciprocal travel agreement for EU citizens.

EU border controls have been lifted for EU citizens traveling within the bloc. The rules for UK travelers have been specifically addressed in the Brexit negotiations.

UK citizens continue to be treated in the same way as EU citizens until the end of the transition period for Brexit on December 31, 2020. Therefore, UK citizens and their family members are exempted from temporary travel restrictions during this time.

The current “safe” list includes Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

© The Eastern Herald
No oligarch or politician dictates to us how to write about any subject. We need your support. Please contribute whatever you can afford. Click here to make your donation.
Follow us on:
Eastern Herald on Google News
News Room
The Eastern Herald’s Editorial Board is responsible for the stories published under this byline. That includes editorials, news stories, letters to the editor, and multimedia features on